Reviews - Castillo de Monda | What other people say...

Superb evening we went with friends to a big band night. Wonderful music & atmosphere. The food was beautiful, to look at & to eat. The staff here are very attentive and very welcoming. I highly recommend you visit

Sandie Ashing Avatar
Sandie Ashing
4/25/2022

5 star ratingUnique, quirky but brilliant! It really did feel as if we were staying in an actual castle. Welcoming staff, well-equipped rooms. Be prepared for incredibly steep road that winds up to the castle 🙂
The bar/restaurant areas were very cosy, especially with the roaring log fire.

db365
4/06/2022

5 star ratingGreat Hotel in a wonderful Castle I‘v been there on a trip for 8 Nights, and we stayed because we wanted to play golf in the area around marbella.
Its such an experience to live in a castle with a wonderful staff and good atmosphere. You have a great view of the surrounding hills and the nearby village.

Its not really easy to access so keep in mind that not everything is going smooth without stairs.

The castle has a great traffic connection aswell.

Totally coming back, enjoyed the stay and can only recommend!

mxggx79
2/12/2022

5 star ratingBirthday treat I had originally planned a special cruise away for a big birthday but this was cancelled at the 11th hour. I wanted to make it a memorable occasion so booked to stay at the castle as I had stayed there previously. It was excellent. Being a Sunday in January it was quiet which resulted in dinner being a private affair with the staff attentive but not over bearing....The food and drink was great.. followed by a leisurely drink in the lounge. The bedroom was superb with long distance views down the valley and a bath I could almost swim in ! Overall a memorable stay for all the right reasons... Thanks to all the staff .... More

drp38
2/02/2022

5 star ratingBeautiful location Our room was beautiful with a four poster bed, jacuzzi bath and wonderful view. All of the chill out areas in this beautiful location are worth a visit and the garden is spectacular at night. We will return here as soon as we can.

susancB6653MR
1/20/2022

5 star ratingA beautiful place to recharge, relax and chill out My husband and I have just come home to Gibraltar,after a two night stay in the beautiful castle with views to die for, but what makes it into a 5 star hotel for us is the amazing staff so so helpful and polite. Our room number 202 is beautiful with a balcony/ terrace, a 4 poster bed and a great jacuzzi bath complimentary water in the fridge a smart tv and air conditioning. A special thanks to the young man at reception who helped us out , we will definitely go back I cannot recommend this hotel enough More

susananng2015
11/28/2021

Really amazing - an absolute 'MUST TRY'. Super friendly and service minded staff. Restaurant in a class you will only find at much more expensive places. Remember to enjoy the viewer during sunset og sunrise. We will be back!

Jakob Egholm Avatar
Jakob Egholm
10/17/2021

The most beautiful place and the chef is amazing. Always changing the menus so you always get a vast choice of dishes.

martine alexander Avatar
martine alexander
10/16/2021

Absolutely amazing hotel. Superb facilities all around this place. They have a really good number of room and accompanying facilities. Pool, restaurant and bar along with lots of outside spaces to sit and enjoy the amazing views. Visited in October 2021 for a company retreat and it was such a relaxing place for people to relax and work. Lots of amazing scenery in the local area. Would love to visit again with the family.

Tom M Avatar
Tom M
10/12/2021

5 star ratingMeermaals heerlijk gegeten Tijdens ons verblijf in het hotel hier bijna iedere avond gegeten. De prijs kwaliteit is prima in orde! Het eten wordt op een smakelijke manier gepresenteerd. Veel keuze in het menu en naast de kaart ook een wisselend aanbod.
Het personeel is erg vriendelijk, een ontzettend leuke tijd bij jullie gehad, bedankt!

Susanne A Avatar
Susanne A
9/21/2021

Superb hotel. Superb location. Superb value for money. Restaurant could do with a la Carte menu in the evening rather than just the bar meals.

Paul Moore Avatar
Paul Moore
9/20/2021

A great place to go for a special occasion, top class food and service

Kevin Charlton Avatar
Kevin Charlton
9/12/2021

5 star ratingamazing views, superb staff We stayed at the Castillo early August. The hotel is perched on top of a steep hill, and walking back from the village is not for the unfit.!! Driving through the narrow streets of the village is also an experience!!! The hotel itself is very nice, with a Moorish theme, with bright and interesting decor. Our room was lovely, very clean and bright. large bathroom with jacuzzi bath. Pool only has 18 sunbeds and is a suntrap. Salt water pool which is refreshing. Nice little garden area with plenty of areas to sit offering great views of the surrounding countryside. Restaurant is nice, especially the outside area, when the roof is off. Continental breakfast is good, and we had 2 excellent meals in the evening. No entertainment when we stayed due to covid restrictions. The staff are excellent, very polite and helpful. We had a very pleasant and enjoyable stay, and would recommend this hotel to people wanting a quiet relaxing break. Just a couple of points to bear in mind,Because of the hotel layout, i think this hotel isn't suitable for anyone in a wheel chair, due to the multiple levels, especially in the pool area. Not really a hotel for children, unless you have a car to drive to Marbella etc, as not a lot to do locally, apart from the pool. With ref to the pool, and this isn't the hotels fault, i would like to point... We stayed at the Castillo early August. The hotel is perched on top of a steep hill, and walking back from the village is not for the unfit.!!
Driving through the narrow streets of the village is also an experience!!!
The hotel itself is very nice, with a Moorish theme, with bright and interesting decor.
Our room was lovely, very clean and bright. large bathroom with jacuzzi bath.
Pool only has 18 sunbeds and is a suntrap. Salt water pool which is refreshing.
Nice little garden area with plenty of areas to sit offering great views of the surrounding countryside.
Restaurant is nice, especially the outside area, when the roof is off. Continental breakfast is good, and we had 2 excellent meals in the evening. No entertainment when we stayed due to covid restrictions.
The staff are excellent, very polite and helpful.
We had a very pleasant and enjoyable stay, and would recommend this hotel to people wanting a quiet relaxing break.
Just a couple of points to bear in mind,Because of the hotel layout, i think this hotel isn't suitable for anyone in a wheel chair, due to the multiple levels, especially in the pool area. Not really a hotel for children, unless you have a car to drive to Marbella etc, as not a lot to do locally, apart from the pool.
With ref to the pool, and this isn't the hotels fault, i would like to point out that we were not happy with our Teutonic cousins, leaving towels on sunbeds, and then leaving to go for breakfast, resulting in several people not being able to get a sunbed,( there are only 18), and having to leave disappointed. The aforementioned " cousins" then returned over 1 hour later. Very selfish attitude. More

1380OAP
8/16/2021

5 star ratingSuperb! The meal we had at Castillo de Monda was excellent. The food, the ambience, the location, the staff....all superb, faultless. The cost was cheap for the quality received. The staff spoke very good English and were very welcoming. The driver up to the castle is steep so be careful! Many thanks.

YorkiePeteYork
7/28/2021

5 star ratingBirthday evening Just the four of us for a casual evening of drinks and bar snacks in the garden/terrace. Well it was just perfect. Started off with some pink cava and then we were gently guided through the bar snack menu from our waiter Fran. The bar snack menu is perfect for trying out and sharing dishes. Thanks to Fran there was no food leftover but we had all eaten the perfect amount. As the sun dipped we moved to the corner table where the views of the countryside were stunning.

sandyfX7655VN
7/28/2021

Best views
Best food
Best service.
Best advice on wines with courses.
Everything was perfect

Niall Thompson Avatar
Niall Thompson
7/25/2021

5 star ratingBeautiful setting Great food with excellent and highly professional service. We will be back for sure in this beautifully located restaurant.

Take the road up from A-7100 side 😉

Goofy3w Avatar
Goofy3w
7/20/2021

5 star ratingDo not miss it, Do go here, there is NO missing it! There were 4 of us who went to Castillo de Monda, a stunningly beautiful Castillo in Monda Spain. We went to view the site and the Castillo, contemplating having lunch but told ourselves, now that it is also a Hotel, that is was going to be very "POSH" and probably way over anyone's budget. Oh contrar Senor y Senora.
It was the best lunch we have had outside of our local Spanish restaurant. (We live in San Pedro de Alcantara, Spain, already for 1 year and a half).
Seriously, the Castillo is so gorgeous, done in a delightfully elegant motif with even more delightful staff. We had an amazing lunch, had incredibly delightful service and walked out of the Castillo, happy, content and extolling the beauty of the spot on top of a mountain. So, DO go there and experience the place for yourself. Stay the weekend or the week. DON'T MISS IT! More

Toni Z
7/08/2021